Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 2, 2007, 10:46 AM   #1

I would like to buy a dSLR for outdoor shooting, mainly landscapes, occasionally some close-ups too. It is the beauty of the nature that I want to catch.

Concerning that, it seems to me that I should be focused on faithfull colour reproduction and should not worry about speed performance.

I read some reviews and my favourites are cheaper or older models of Nikon and Canon. There are also favorable reviews about Fujifilm S3 pro. Does its wide dynamic range make it more interesting choise for me? I'm open for other models too and have patience if some streching of the budget is needed.

I am not an expert, but photography is becoming more and more serious hobby for me. Thank You in advance for any advice regarding the subject including body-lens combinations, additional lens and other accessoirs.
mirkoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2007, 12:06 PM   #2

What's your budget?
bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2007, 1:33 PM   #3

My budget is arround 1000$ at the moment, but as I am not in a hurry, I'm ready to save some more.
Is it a good idea to buy cameras in Dubai or similar places because of lower prices than in Europe?
Old Jan 2, 2007, 3:49 PM   #4

I have the Pentax K100D and have been delighted with the results. I do mostly landscape and macro, and have been recently trying my hand at birding.

Whatever you buy, be sure to get quality lenses - they make a big difference with landscapes. The nice thing about the Pentax is that it can use any Pentax lens (all K mounts and screw mounts with an adaptor) ever made - I'm happily using a 50mm 1.7 lens I bought new in 1980. That means that you can sometimes find some fine old lenses for less than a new equivalent (though if the lens was originally a manual lens, it won't suddenly become autofocus).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2007, 10:03 AM   #5