Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 15, 2007, 11:56 PM   #1

Hello All,
I have been going through for so long now its ridiculous. I have read a bunch of posts here and on other forums and the smaller discussions on Flickr etc. If the question is only about Camera vs. Camera, I am seeing K10D or D80 (chill before you flame). But I haven't seen any real discussions on scope of use etc. The ones I am working around with (in my head) are:
  1. Pentax K100D[/*]
  2. Nikon D70s[/*]
  3. Canon EOS 400D/ Rebel XTI[/*]
  4. Pentax K10D[/*]
  5. Sony DSLR Alpha 100[/*]
I am an amateur enthusiast, I guess. These terms are so subjective and vague (IMHO). I had started out with a Canon G3 and after 3 years feel limited and need to make the jump. I can't decide whether its time to spend on the $1000 cameras with one (maybe two) lens or to get started with one of the $500 ones. I was thinking with the K100D, get going with 1 lens and then get 1-2 more and build up enough to then move up to what Pentax throws out (potentially) in 2-3 years (in a higher level than K10D as well). The other thing that has me all caught is the Shake Reduction. I am really torn on that and that's why I was really hesitant to even add the XTI to this list, but am a big time Canon fan.

What do you guys think? I know this could be a weird question, but I wonder if others out there plan their camera investments as well?

Thank you.
kanedaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2007, 3:22 AM   #2