Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 16, 2007, 8:00 PM   #1
JMJ

Okay, so I posted this thread last Wednesday:

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...amp;forum_id=9

Basically, I had decided on the Rebel XTi. I also thought getting the 17-85mm IS lense would be an excellent package for a dSLR starter. I'm by no means a professional nor will I ever be. I will however learn how to take good pictures with the equipment that I have. I don't want the cheapest equipment, nor do I want the most expensive equipment.

Over the last week I have been doing nothing but research and now I'm on the fence between the XTi or D80. Of course I'd rather spend the XTi money than the D80 money, but I don't mind spending the D80 cash if it truly is the better camera for the money. The big issue I have with the D80 right now is that I can't find the 18-200mm VR lense ANYWHERE. That is what I wanted if I was to go with the D80.