Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 18, 2007, 5:44 AM   #1

Hello everybody,

I spent a lot of time looking for the perfect DSLR to fit my thoughts and needs. Now my selection is between 30D by Canon and D80 by Nikon. The lences will be original Canon resp. Nikon 17-55/2.8 for the respective camera. I have had both cameras in my hands. I shot many pictures in the store and watched them on a brilliant display. They were all the same high quality. I definitely do not know which one should I buy. :?: Probably I should mention that it's gonna be my first DSLR, and that I'm gonna use it many years. I am not a professional, but I only want to buy a high quality camera and lences. So please give me your advice concerning only these two cameras with the mentioned lences (or do you know the better lences? I'm not looking for the zooms like 18-200 or even less..). One issue about Canon which makes me unsure is dust, and another one the reliability of the shutter and the electronics. But: the body of Canon looks more solid to me, while the lence by Nikon does the same compared to the lence by Canon... What do you think?

..And please, excuse me any errors I made, since English is not my native language...

Thank you in advance for your help!
Oleksiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 18, 2007, 6:33 AM   #2

Both are high quality. And both systems have strong supporters - Nikon owners will tell you the D80 is best and Canon owners will tell you the 30D is best. The truth is: they're both great cameras.

I'm not sure why you think one camera over the other is more suseptical to dust and shutter failure though. Dust most often comes from changing lenses. And I don't believe the D80 is weather sealed so that's no added benefit there.