Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 21, 2007, 8:50 PM   #1

I think my trusty Olympus C-750 is on its last legs, and I'm going to need a new camera. The most demanding use for one of my cameras is shooting soccer under stadium lights. The C-750 was sensational for daytime matches, but shots taken at night take extensive post-processing just to get borderline quality (blurs, lighting, etc).

I know the real answer is a DSLR with a high performance low-light lens, but I'm a high school soccer coach and the one using the camera is usually a student manager. Thus, I need a camera that is not prohibitively expensive, is durable, and relatively easy to train.

What I've read about the Olympus SP-510 makes me wonder if it might be a strong candidate. I understand their are serious concerns with noise at high ISO values, but I can't imagine them being worse than those I've dealt with on the C-750.

Normal shooting conditions are a tripod, shooting to an anticipated action zone with high-speed shutter, and significant zoom (usually somewhere around 8X).

Opinions on the SP-510 for this usage? Better options?

I've attached a typical post-crop & processing image taken with the C-750 during a night match. Photo taken at a distance of about 50 yards from a sideline tripod...stadium lighting....no flash.
Attached Images

Trojansoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2007, 10:21 PM   #2

Coach,

You were right about the DSLR. Short of that, I don't think the SP-510 will be much better than the C-750 for night games. Take a look at the Fuji S6000 and S5200 before you buy.

the Hun

rinniethehun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2007, 7:29 AM   #3

I' d have to agree withrinniethehun