Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 25, 2007, 9:23 PM   #1

I currentlyhave twodigital cameras to choose from. (1st) Fuji Fine pix f20----(2nd)Olypmus FE-230. i am a novice at taking pics, so I don't need anything hardcore. I feel the specs of these two are sufficent for me. Which camera is the better of the two? Please explain andhelp me decide. Thanks
SD41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2007, 9:28 PM   #2

Sd-

Are you looking for more zoom, more exposure control, or more photo quality. Please tell us a bit more.

MT/Sarah
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 9:37 PM   #3

Iwill favorphoto quality, exposure control, mechanical endurance, easy usage.
SD41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2007, 6:41 AM   #4

SD-

I owned my Panasonic FZ-20 for about 2 weeks and found the visible noise in the high ISO settings very undesireable. So I sold the camera. I do own two other Panasonic cameras, the FZ-7 and the TZ-1, and have found that if you keep the ISO setting at ISO 200 or less, you can capture good photos without the noise problem.

However, there is another trade-off that has to be taken into consideration as well. That is that when you have the ISO setting throttled back to ISO 200 with an existing light photo, where no flash is being used, you have very slow shutter speeds. My Panasonic cameras have been very reliable.

The Olympus FE-230 was just announced yesterday (01/25/07) and will probably not be available until mid March.

Here is a sample photo taken with my FZ-7where the low ISO setting of 200 did work nicely.

MT/Sarah
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2007, 11:26 AM   #5

I would go for the F20. It doesn't give alot of control, but it has a bit more than the FE-230, which I think doesn't even have white balance adjustable (not even presets).