Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 27, 2007, 4:42 PM   #1

I'm looking for a small camera to carry around for around $150, any ideas? I already have a SLR, but it's just too big to carry around (I'm a college student). Thanks for the help folks.
sblack2588 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2007, 6:59 PM   #2

You might want to take a look at the Fuji F-20 camera. It is small and has great low light performance.

MT/Sarah
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2007, 8:57 PM   #3

Another consideration would be the excellent Kodak C875 (which Sarah introduced to me). Here's a photo, straight from the camera, except for a touch of cropping and a slight boost in levels - and resizing to fit the forum, of course:
Attached Images

flippedgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2007, 9:06 PM   #4

Hi Chris-

When we consider the Kodak C-875, it is important that folks know that it does not have a viewfinder and that it is really not a low light level camera, like the Fuji F-20 or F-30.

Al in all the Kodak C-875 is a great buy at around $130, but folks have to know its limitations as well.

MT/Sarah
Old Jan 27, 2007, 9:43 PM   #5

Sarah, true, but last time I neglected the C875 you chided me, so I want to be safe! :lol:

We should find out more details from the OP as to the kind of use he/she would like to put the new camera to.

The Fuji F20 does not have an optical viewfinder, and limited manual controls. It also uses the horrid XD format.

The Fuji F20/30/31/40 slaughter all the other P&S cameras in the low-light/no flash arena. I would say the Kodak C875 is respectable compared with the rest of the non-Fuji cameras. And it uses cheap, fast, readily-available SD cards.

Hey sblack, can you clue us in on what features you are looking for?