Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 28, 2007, 4:32 PM   #1

Good evening, and thanks in advance for the advice. I've never owned a decent camera before, and don't know anything about cameras besides what I've read in consumer reports. I am looking for a digital camera that would be good for using at sporting events mainly. I'm not usually close to the action, so I need one that can zoom from a good distance. I would also like one with minimal shutter lag time since I will be taking action shots. Not sure if this is an issue, but I also would like one that is easily compatible with a mac. As stated above, I am new to the digital camera world, but I don't want my search to be limited to just cameras for beginners. I am very good with electronics and am eager to learn. I would also like to spend under a thousand.
Thanks again.:bye:
chappellhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2007, 4:48 PM   #2

chappelhill-

This surely does sound like a job for a DSLR camera and a high quality zoom lens. Hopefully our Sports Photo expert JohnG will chime in with a great answer for you. He has far more experience in this particular area than I do.

MT/Sarah
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2007, 11:17 PM   #3

yeah, i figured i need a dSLR. not sure which one though. thanks for the reply.
Old Jan 29, 2007, 6:33 AM   #4

chappellhill wrote:
Quote:
I am looking for a digital camera that would be good for using at sporting events mainly. I'm not usually close to the action, so I need one that can zoom from a good distance.
Chappelhill,

What type of sporting events? Be specific as to level of play (i.e. pro baseball is different than HS baseball which is different than little league).