Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 2, 2007, 9:11 AM   #1

Hi, I'm a novice looking to buy aversitile compact digicam for a safari holiday, but will also want to use itfor indoor shots when i get back.

Idon't want to spendmore thanĀ£150(around $300). I have looked around and like the sound of the fuji f650 and kodak c875, but am open to any other suggestions. I am keen to have good picturequality and avoid blury shots as i've found a lot of digicams are unreliable in this area.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Could anyone advise me which one is best? Battery power and storage capability will be very important as i won't have access to electricity or computersfor long periods in Africa.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Thanks in advance for any advice!
Eilise B is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2007, 10:08 AM   #2

Eilise-

I think that I understand your question and situation. However, most animal safari type photos, such asthe example attached, are going to require more telephoto lens power than either the Fuji F-650 or the Kodak C-875 can provide to you. IMHO you ought to be looking at ultra zoom cameras such as the Kodak P-850, or P-712, the Sony H-1, H-2 or H-5, the Canon S-2 or S-3.

Those cameras would allow you to be twice as far away from the game while still getting the same photo as you might with the Kodak C-875 or the Fuj0-650. The Kodak P-850, the Canon S-2, and the Sony H-1 are available as used cameras on e-bay for very reasonable prices that will still be within your budget.

I recently picked up a Kodak P-50 on e-bay for $(US) 138.00 delivered, and it works perfectly. Also purchaseyour camera well in advance of your trip so that you can be thoroughly used to working with the camera. Game shots are often split second type photos.

MT/Sarah
Attached Images

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2007, 12:11 PM   #3