Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 11, 2007, 12:25 PM   #1

I can't help but to think that while the Sony R1 is practically a fixed-lens DSLR, perhaps the difference between a 6mp and a 10 mp is not so much? I think for the sake of faster RAW write times, and better lens options, I might be better off going with a DSLR. The sony seems like a solid camera, but I can find much better write speeds in RAW (almost 20 seconds with a full buffer with the Sony R1) so for taking panaramics with motion (so I can keep things in shot one, as opposed to shot two and three, etc..), or action shots for print, I just can't imagine waiting 20 seconds between shots in RAW mode, or 9 with an empty buffer =(

I am an entry-level photographer, however I am a fast learner, and am interested in being able to produce professional-quality shots as my experience grows.

Just curious if the write speeds are going to make the big of a difference in average shooting, or if I'm talking about things that are a litte over my head =)
Ecaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2007, 1:03 PM   #2

The Sony R1 costs over $850 online. You can get even the Canon XTi for less than that. The R1 does have a very good lens. The kits lens of a lot of the entry level DSLR's goes from about 27mm to 82mm. The R1 starts at 24mm (better for wide angle shots). What kind of digicam do you have now? Have you considered the Kodak P880? It's much slower than the DSLR's or the R1, but it is much cheaper and, like the R1, starts at 24mm and goes to 140mm. It's 8 megapixels. One of the gripes against this camera was its relatively slow shot to shot time. Of course, either a DSLR or the R1 would be much better in low light. Anyway, give it a thought.

If it were me, I would probably go for a DSLR.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2007, 1:15 PM   #3