Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 12, 2007, 2:40 PM   #1

I'm a very amatuer photographer with a willingness to learn, but not too much time to do so. It occurred to me recently that I need a better camera than my Nikon Coolpix 3200 when a friend came by with his Canon 20d and shot some really nice photos of my 5 month old son. So now when I look back at all my nikon photos, they look really bad in comparison. I'd like a nice camera that will last me a long long time, and will take great photos. I'm fairly tech savvy, but cameras are fairly new to me. Budget is not a huge issue, but I'd like to stay below $1,500 for sure, and $1,000 preferably. I'll mostly take family photos anc vacation photos etc. This budget should include any lenses that I will immediately need to take great photos.

Any help is much appreciated.
saz_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2007, 3:01 PM   #2

The 30D is somewhat larger and has (for me) a more comfortable grip. Dollarwise, the XTi is hard to beat. I don't especially like the grip, so be sure to physically handle the XTi DSLR camera. But, the XTi with kit lens and perhaps a telephoto fit your budget nicely.

Have you considered other brands, than Canon? Nikon and Pentax both also have good equipment.

MT/Sarah

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2007, 4:22 PM   #3

I'm happy to consider other brands, but I only have experience with the canon 20d. I havent used the XTi, but have read reviews, and it seems just as good for a user like me.
Old Feb 12, 2007, 5:16 PM   #4

saz-

I was thinking about the Nikon D-40 which is a DSLR camera designed specifically for a person like yourself who is transitioning from a point and shoot camera to a DSLR. The D-40 has received excellent reviews. It might be worth taking a look. It is on Steve's "Best Cameras" List. Here is Steve's recent review of the Nikon D-40: