Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 22, 2007, 5:25 PM   #1

My old measley Coolpix 990 has served me well but I just need something with more zoom, and I am SO tired of trying to press the button 1/2 second BEFORE the shot lines up! I thought I wanted a DSLR because I loved my old film Nikon SLR so much, but now am reading about the 12x zooms with stablization -- how much better would it be to not have to carry the big, heavy, fragile lens around "just in case"?

I am a hobby photographer, lots of animal portraits both inside and out, hence the need for shutter speed and responsiveness. Frankly, the 3.2 mpix resolution hasn't been a big problem for me, but maybe I just don't know what a difference more pixels would make in my editing capability. I tend to mostly use Jasc Paint Shop Pro for adjustments; I have Photoshop Elements but just haven't gotten the hang of it.

Any suggestions on something that will get me lots o' zoom and responsive and quick to recover and that doesn't take a long time to learn to operate?

Thank you!

prairillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2007, 7:06 PM   #2

Canon S3 IS.Check out the review here. My brother got one a month ago. Easy to use. Lots of features. 12X optical zoom. 6 megapixels. Can be gotten online from reputable etailers for around $350. Looks fairly sturdy.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2007, 7:46 PM   #3
Administrator

Why would anyone want to upgrade from a nice camera like a Coolpix 990? :? :-)

I've still got an old Coolpix 950 that I use from time to time. I had a 990 years ago, too. But, I sold it. I should have kept the 990. I liked that camera. lol

Yea... they're slow. The last time I used my 950 at a birthday party (I like the swivel body for parties since I can get better candids shooting from waist level with it), it seemed *very* slow compared to newer models. But, it does help you to work on your timing. LOL