Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 7, 2007, 8:37 PM   #1

Hi, I am a musician who is looking to buy a camera with the primary additional functions of recording my music performances I play. I'm looking for a good quality stereo mic in it(hopefully with adjust recording gain or dynamic gain) as well the feture ofhandling dark areas like from a bar or low level light source. I like to take pictures so I preferring to go with a camera as opposed to a video camera. I need solid fps as well. I don't care for high resolution or crazy zoom. Something that a working musician can use to analyze and record/store performances. The megapixel on the camera doesn't have to be higher then 5.0. Any idea's are extremely helpful to me.
mrfatcatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2007, 8:54 PM   #2
Administrator

The cameras most suitable for low lgiht photos (and your performances would likely fall into that category) are Digital SLR (dSLR) models that have the ability to shoot at higher ISO speeds (which is how sensitive their sensors are to light) with bright lenses.

But, none of them have the ability to record audio the way you way to. They don't have movie modes, stereo audio (most would not record any audio at all, much less in stereo). I'd have to spend some time digging around, just to find a dSLR model that lets you attach a voice note of a few seconds to an image. Their primary purpose is capturing high quallity still images, with the versatilty of interchangeable lenses (and you can get them much brighter than available in fixed lens models) with much higher usable ISO speeds (thanks to their larger sensors with more surface area for gathering light).