Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 8, 2007, 1:11 AM   #1

Hello everyone -

Very newbie here - In a couple of months, I will be spending three weeks traveling through China, Taiwain, and Japan. I do not own a camera, so I have been spending hours each night reading up on digital cams and have narrowed down my selections to a few.

I do have a couple of musts, though -

*AA batteries - I do not want propritery batteries

*12x zoom

I like the Canon S3 IS, and the Sony DSC H2 - both are in my price range.

Is image stabilization a must?

Any suggestions? I plan on using this camera after the trip, as I am finding this photo thing quite interesting.

Sorry for my rambled post - thanks for your help.

sw

slim whitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2007, 10:15 PM   #2

Slim. You don't say what your price range is but I'll guess up to US$500 from what you have mentioned. You'll certainly want a good camera for a trip like that.

You are going to need something with a wide range (at least 28 - 200 in 35mm terms) since you are going to be covering landscapes and wanting to get close too.

Personally I like the Olympus SP550UZ as it has an enormous range (28 - 500+), very fast fps and in-body stabilisation and some great reports (ca. US$450) whereas the new Sonys H7 & H9 start at 35mm I think it is - not the best for your landscapes, a 28mm is a must and look for at least 6MP models . There are quite a few ultra zooms on the market - look at them all and see which suits your needs better. Panasonic have some very handy pocket sized models if you need something that you can tuck away easily - but beware they have a lot of noise at 400 ISO so your night / evening shots might not be the best.