Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 12, 2007, 3:44 PM   #1

I'm new to the DSLR area and am getting conflicting answers on the difference betweenthe identicallens on a DSLR and a film SLR (by the way, I am considering a Nikon D40 kit, the 70-300 VR Tele, and the SB600 flash).

I understand that the angle of view will be less on a DSLR than a film cameragiven a specific lens length. I have also been told that the Tele will have an effective focal length of 105 - 450. Does this mean that if I put the lens on a film camera and than a DSLR the image will appear closer (larger), or will the field of view just decrease?

I have had a Canon A1 for some 28 years now and it's still cranking out great photos.

This DSLR stuff is all new to me!

:?

nuzzy90532 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 12, 2007, 5:49 PM   #2

A 35mm camera makes exposures on a strip of film that is 35mm wide. That exposure is 24mm x 36mm.

On a Nikon D40, the image sensor is 15.6mm x 23.7mm, so the same lens on a 35mmSLR will have a narrower field of view on the D40. Since the 35mm film exposure is about 1.5 times the size of the image sensor in the D40 (24/15.6 = 1.54, 36/23.7 = 1.52), a lens with a focal length of 70mm (like the 70-300 VR you mentioned) would have about the same field of view as a 105mm lens on a 35mm SLR (70 x 1.5 = 105). That's why you were told that the 70-300 would have a 35mm equivalent focal length of 105-450.

The terminology in your message was incorrect. The lens doesn't have an "effective focal length". The lens doesn't actually change its focal length when it's mounted on one camera or the other; the cameras create different size images, so the field of view is different. The focal length of 105-450 reflects the smaller image size, and is just a number to help users of 35mm cameras understand what field of view they will get from their digital cameras.
Attached Images

TCav is offline   Reply With Quote