Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 13, 2007, 4:26 PM   #1

Hi,

I'm new to digital photography, but have a technical background in computers and film cameras. My daughter gave me her old Canon A400 which has a 3.2 megapixel CCD.

I was excited about it until I tried to take a sequence of action shots and found out it would only trip the shutter when IT was ready. Consequently I missed most of the shots, and got pictures that were, well...not uploaded to the computer.

So, is there a low end digital camera somebody would like to recommend that has either minimal, or preferably, NO shutter delay. I'm not really interested in resolution; I'm not trying to take professional photos but I'd like to get some shots of my grandkids when they're playing and not end up with empty pictures of grass.

Thanks,

John

johnny6200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 13, 2007, 7:08 PM   #2

This might be a moot point, but digital point and shoots have to do the metering and autofocusing at once if you suddenly depress the shutter button, which causes that shutter lag. However, if you half-depress the shutter button, it will meter and focus, but wait for you to fully depress to actually expose the image. From my experience with Canon P&S cameras (S1 IS, S400), you can get pretty good response by doing the half-depress, then full depress. Usually for me it's almost spot on right as I depress the shutter fully.

I know I didn't directly answer your question, but I just wanted to make sure you were aware of this issue.
Illuminati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2007, 7:57 PM   #3

John,