Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 18, 2007, 9:37 PM   #1

I have read about nearly every camera known to man , and all I feel is :?!!!

I am not a pro, but I am an avid photographer... I take TONS of pictures. The subjects of most of my pictures are my children, and I also take quite a lot of photos for ebay auctions. I like to do natural portrait style shots of my children in natural light and love to turn off my flash whenever possible. I have been learning aboutusing shutter speed, aperture, and ISOthrough experimentation and trial and error with my Canon S1is. I have had the S1is for two years and I HATE it. No matter what I try, I cannot get a usable or focused shot most of the time indoors at all. I don't know if it is me or the pitiful lack of a AF assist lamp, but it is terribly frustrating and I am just done and ready to move on to something else. Before digital, I used several Canon Rebel SLRs, and LOVED them. My pictures with the Rebel were gorgeous.

The most important thing to me in a camera is great prints. I have a scrapbooking business and use my photos in my albums. So great image quality, color and sharpnessfor prints is the #1 thing I am looking for. Price is also a major factor, if it wasn't I would be getting the Canon Digital Rebel XTi that I really want. But, seeing as that will have to remain on the wish list for the moment, I am at a loss as far as what to get.