Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 21, 2007, 6:55 PM   #1

This "What camera do I buy" section is just what I was looking for. Thx

OK. I am going to buy a Rebel XTI very soon here. I have been looking on ebay for quite some time now. It seems my best options are going to be one of the offered kits. My wife and I have zero experience in digital cameras (or photography for that matter). We eventually will be taking a class after we get the camera. Why am I stuck on Canon? Well, I just love everything they do, so why not stick with them for my camera too. That simple.

Here is what we will be doing:
This camera will be the only one we have. So it will be used for family get togethers, vacations, landscaping, sceneries, eagles. Basically, everything. One of the most important uses will be for sports. I was 'told' with this camera I should be able to take a picture of my son's baseball team pitching and actually stop the ball and see the stitches and writing on it. I am very interested zoom. I believe the farther I can zoom in for a good shot, the happier I am. I would love nothing more than to be able to take really fast shots while zoomed in to capture the look of my son's eyes just before he sacks a quarterback. So, I guess how fast I can take these pictures will be valuable as well. I was also 'told' that with this high of megapixels, I should have no problem of making any photos into a normal poster size picture without too much notice of quality loss.

The different kits on ebay are just in the range we can really do, around the 1000 dollar range. Some have different lenses, memory size, stands and other items. Like most people, I am interested in the best deal for the money spent. I have no idea what lenses I am needing and memory. Also, I don't know if any software for photo editing and things like that come with the canons. If anyone knows, please let me know.