Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 12, 2007, 10:28 AM   #1

Hello,

So I'm looking into purchasing a DSLR for airshow/aircraft photography. The biggest thing for me is going to be the lens I think, since I'll need 300mm miniumum from what I've read and know. So...with so many out there, which to chose? I want to stay reasonable, so that means for me hovering around $1000. If I go a little over that, that would be fine, but I'm not looking to blow the bank on this. It's just for me, I'm not a professional, I just want some nice pictures I can use on my computer and maybe print out.

It seems the Nikon D40's, Canon Rebels, Pentax, and Sony are all about my price range, and I'm seeing lenses that I could use with each of them. Some 'kits' on ebay seem pretty decent too, although I know you have to be a little wary with those sellers.

Any help from anyone? I did a search on here for airshows, much didn't come up. And I know that the lens issue is probably #1 for what I should chose, and it just seems like there is so much out there it can really make your head spin. Thanks!

Brian
Waltz41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 12, 2007, 10:51 AM   #2

As you've said, any DSLR on the market will fit your stated needs of airshow photography. The camera based needs are fairly simple for that type of work and any DSLR can do the job. My advice would be to spend the money on the lens and not the body.