Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 19, 2007, 5:33 PM   #1

Hello,

Ineed to sell a large amount of inventory on ebayfrom my boutique that has closed. I would need to photograph things such as cosmetics and jewelry. I have very little cameraexperience and was wondering if there was anyone out there that may be able to help me. I do not need to take professional quality close up images, but would like to take pretty decent ones that depict details of what I am selling. I have a budget of only $600 and have no idea of what to buy. If I could buy a basic digital camera for less, even better. I have seen people use basic digital cameras and get decent photos, but there are so many out there. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Also, I was wondering if anyone had any experience with using a portable photo studio like the one here... http://www.ritzcamera.com/product/30...dio-light-kits Is this a good buy or is it a waste of money?

Thanks!!!
Tessellations is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2007, 5:37 PM   #2

I am SOOO sorry for posting this in the wrong forum!!! I got so excited to be able to ask a question that I posted it here. Please accept my apologies!!!!
Tessellations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2007, 7:53 AM   #3

Tough call.

First, you'll need a tripod. Nothing big. Just a small rigid tabletop tripod. There are lots of them around, but you should talk to someone in a local camera shop.

Second, what you're talking about is macrophotography. I'm sure that you can locate a decent P&S digicam with reasonable macro capabilities. Steves-Digicams.com has a great list of the best cameras in most categories, buut I don't think he's got them segregated by their macro capabilities.