Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 20, 2007, 8:52 AM   #1

First off -- I am not a digital photography pro or an expert -- I am a novice. However, I do take many many pictures of family events, vacations, and my family's daily life (indoor, outdoor, and flash) I reqularly use Photoshop to enhance, fix, zoom, crop, stitch, etc my prints and I am very comfortable doing so. I make many 8*10, 10*13 prints for framing and display. (in fact, I just purchased a Epson R2400 printer). Quality of prints is very important to me. So he comes my question.......

I currently use 8MP cameras - Canon Pro 1 and Nikon Coolpix P1. However, as I am always seeking to enhance the quality of my prints (and keep my technology current), I have been intrigued by the 10MP cameras. I would not want a DSLR (due to size) and would only want a compact that can fit in my pocket (the Pro 1 doesnt get as much use anymore due to size). However, based on my research, I am getting the vibe that a 10MP may not produce a much better print for me because of the small processor sizes, and the noise issues.

So my question for the experts is.......would I benefit from upgrading to a 10MP? If there are any suggestions on specific cameras given my usage it would be appreciated. Thanks.
PaulPuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 20, 2007, 9:00 AM   #2

If you were jumping from an 8MP digicam to a 10MP DSLR, I'd say the jump would be worth it for the performance gain you'd see at higher ISO's. It's significant. If you are talking about upgrading to a 10MP digicam, I would say stay where you are. The difference won't amount to a hill of beans.

Your vibe would be correct...
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2007, 9:37 AM   #3

I think Greg's nailed the issue.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2007, 10:37 AM   #4