Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 25, 2007, 9:18 AM   #1

I will be traveling with this camera and be taking mainly Landscape and Architecture photos. So what is better for houses, with naturally lit interiors/exteriors. I am new to the DSLR world and want the best camera for my money.

Cheers.
Lens Jester is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 25, 2007, 1:03 PM   #2

On a budget, I'd say the K100D has the advantage. It has built-in stabilization which enables you to use slower shutter speeds, and there is a wide variety of used lenses available for it at reasonable prices. They're mostly manual focus, but for your kind of shooting that probably isn't a big deal.

I would suggest that you shoot RAW though. The K100D has weaker JPG processing than the Nikon, so shooting RAW and processing them through Photoshop or some other program will yield sharper results and help correct for inaccurate white balance.

However, if you'll mostly be using a tripod, don't want to process RAW files, and would rather just use one or two zoom lenses rather than a variety of zooms and primes, you might find the Nikon to be a simpler solution.
Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2007, 8:34 PM   #3

However, if you'll mostly be using a tripod, don't want to process RAW files, and would rather just use one or two zoom lenses rather than a variety of zooms and primes, you might find the Nikon to be a simpler solution.

this is a remarkI don't quite get? How will buying a D40 alianate you from primes? Sure they will be manual focus, but so will the year old used ones for pentax? I would say the nikon lens lineup is quite big enough.. ( if i have misunderstood something plz let me know ):-)

Actually i agree with most of your post, and i just stumpled on some details that seemed a bit unclear.:blah: