Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 4, 2007, 12:46 PM   #1

I am just getting started in digital photography and currently am in the possession of (inherited) both a 5D and the S2. I am wondering about the relative quality of each. I only want to keep one. Are the advantages to one over the other? Any advice will be appreciated.
jackjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 4, 2007, 9:15 PM   #2

I know this doens't help much but...... I would keep them both. With the S2 you have access to the F mount (lots of choices there.)andacameramany prefer for portraits andweddings.With the5D you have in camera AS and iso3200. It all comes down to what you shoot.
monx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2007, 12:03 AM   #3

Thank you for taking the time to answer. Could you take a little more time and explain why the S2 is good for portraits. Is it not as good as the 5D for pictures other than portraits. Actually, having been married twice, if I never see another wedding, I will die a happy man. The thought of taking wedding pictures makes my toes curl. On that basis, the 5D is the clear choice. When you say portrait, what does that mean -- does it mean pictures within a certain close distance or does it really mean portraits. Thanks for your time.
Old May 5, 2007, 8:58 AM   #4

The fuji S series is known for excellent dynamic range and color reproduction, especially in the rendering of skin tones. It is a camera of choice for many wedding and portrait photographers for this reason. The S2 is a bit more feature rich and pro level in build quality and control. The 5d has the advantage of anti shake built in and higher available ISO. For a day to day walkaround camera, the 5d should work well. If you need a bit more control and ruggedness, go with the S2. You could always keep the one you don't use all the time as a backup, but two different systems means more lenses, flashes and gear to keep.