Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2007, 2:16 PM   #1

Hi,
Recently my trusty old Kodak digicam stopped working courtesy of my 1 year old daughter. So I am looking for a replacement point and shoot cam.
Now I am not an expert in photography. All I pretty much care about is the picture quality with minimal effort on my part while taking pictures.
After quickly perusing the reviews here it looks like either the A570 or the A630 would make a good choice. The A630 is a 8 MP camera while the 570 is a 7.1 MP one. So is the A630 the better choice? Or would you recommend another camera for someone in my position?

Thanks for all your help
sinano is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2007, 5:06 PM   #2

The additional 1 MP doesn't matter much. However, the A630 has not only more megapixels it has also larger pixels, i.e. the A630 has a 1/1.8" sensor which is considerably larger than the 1/2.5" sensor of the A570. The A630 also has a very useful flip out display. Unlike the A570 the A630 supports the very useful CHDK hack (raw mode etc.). The only advantage of A570 over the A630 is the image stabiliser, which is great if you have problems with shake. Otherwise the A630 has better image quality and is more versatile.
kassandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2007, 10:21 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. Looks like it's the A630 then.
Or would you recommend another camera over those two?
Again, thanks for all your help.
Old May 10, 2007, 1:35 PM   #4