Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2007, 3:48 PM   #1

I am new to this site, so any help/comments is appreciate.

I have narrowed my search of a ultra zoom camera to Canon S3IS and the new Kodak Z712. I am an amateur photographer, but do want good pictures.I have narrowed my search to these 2 cameras, because I want to be able to use SD cards that I already have. Iwant to be able to take pictures of my kidswhile playing sports, baseball, football, basketball.The S3 is actually over mybudget just for the camera and it seems like I will need to purchase accessories, batteries, etc.,while I have found the Z712 for a little less and comes with everything I would need. Is the S3 that muchbetter of a camera?
meg5466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2007, 11:56 AM   #2

The Canon S3IS is a highly regarded camera in its class (super-zooms) and has received many favorable reviews. It can be expected to take good photos under most circumstances and has many satisfied users. It will soon be replaced by the S5IS so clearance discounts MAY be available soon.

The Kodak Z712 is a brand new camera (official release APR 30, '07) and no thorough (Steve and DPReview) reviews are available yet. There any comments about performance are speculative at this point. The Z712 is the replacement for the Z612 which has been well reviewed and has a significant number of satisfied users including me.