Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 9, 2007, 6:49 PM   #1

I am fairly new to photography, I have only played with my fathers old Nikon SLR, but I am looking to buy a new DSLR. I am interested in the D40 or the D40x, or maybe the D80. I am looking for the advise of those who know so any input would be greatly appreciated. I have read that its better to get the D40 over the D40x and spend the extra money on lenses, but I don't really know. I an an engineer and want take achitectural, and landscape photos, but be able to have large prints made (if they look any good that is!!). I have been leaning towards one of the D40's but being a guy I want the biggest and best, but I don't know if at my level I would have any need for the power of the D80. But I would really hate to find in a years time that I now need to go and buy something with more capability. I appreciate any advice.

Jeremy
jerwilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2007, 10:11 PM   #2

http://www.popphoto.com/cameras/3896...ikon-d40x.html

Check out the above link for the latest test of the D40x. It shows the improvements over the D40.
Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2007, 11:21 PM   #3

D40x over the D40 in a heartbeat. That is like buying a Rebel instead of the XT or XTi.

As far as the D40x versus the 80 or even other brands. A few suggestions beyond ours. Read reviews. Go handle the Cameras. Borrow from a friend. Try it at a store etc.

The X basically is a 80 that can only use Digital reduced crop type lenses (these are great, better then regular usually just they can not be used on a full frame camera). Also the Xhas less controls, etc on the then the 80. ***** It is a really nice Camera. It is really a matter of Price and your goals. X Bodies Starts around $700 and 80's around $900

The Rebel XTi is another fine choice around $700.