Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2007, 6:25 PM   #1

Hi, new member here and first post. FirstlyI apologise, because no doubt this question has been posted a thousand times, but here goes.

I am looking for my first DSLR and I fully appreciate it is a minefield and after doing the usual research I am just as 'lost' as when i first started, however if I give you my requirements then maybe someone will point me in the right direction. When it comes to a quite a large financial outlay on a subject I know little about then I am a big believer on taking advice from those in the know.

Ihave a little digital camera experience mainly with compacts soI am not a total beginner. My currect compact is a Canon 900ti which i use for ebay pics and everyday family snaps howeverI am looking for something more proffesional mainly for portraits and photographing my 2yr old son, playing sports etc. Iam also into fishing in a big way and like making large prints (A3) of trophy shots. In these respects I am mainly interested in speed and image quality.I admit that most of my camera usage (to start with) will be in daylight with nothing too technical required.

I appreciate that more pixels does not necessarily mean better image quality, however the current batch of 10mp SLR's are now within my budget and those are the models which I am most interested in. As mentioned I have done a bit of research andI have also done the touch and feel test at my local Jessops store. I knowthatthe first couple of months of my new cameramay be in the Auto mode howeverI want the ability to expand. I hate paying for something that is good at one thing and crap at another evenif I hardly ever use the other, if you get my drift. I want something thats capable of covering all bases even if it takes my many months to use all the functions or only if I use some functions very occasionally.