Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 10, 2007, 10:38 PM   #1

"I am new to dslr's, although i have been in photography w/ advanced point and shoots "i never experienced a manual mode yet". Im expecting to learn alot, and i know i iwll have to. I enjoy photography as a hobby, although i also developed it into a business. I take pictures of famous speakers on a podium, using 8X magnification on my point and shoot camera. I looked at zoom lenses that reach that amount but they are VERY expensive. So ijust started thikning of just buying a 8X prime lens. The reason im using 8X and not mm is b/c i dont understand how to use the mm measurments, and dont even bother trying to explain it, b/c i cant get it, yet. SO, which camera would be the highest quality, that i could buy w/ 2 average lenses for my hobby, and a 8X prime lens for uder 800$, if its possible"

When i say 8X i refer to point and shoot terminology. I learned from others that im trying to say 400mm . I am shooting a target thats about 25-30 feet away, w/ a shoulders and above shot of the person. on my point and shooot i need to go to 8X optical zoom to achieve the perfect frame. And yes i mean a PRIME as in no zoom, so fixed in the "8X" (400mm (i guess)) area. I dont know if these come under 900$ for the full package. and u said ur reccomnedation was 11X zoom. would that be in term of point and shoot terminology( thats all im familiar with) cus thats alot, and to buy a 18-180 (10X) zoom lens is like 800$, sao i dont see how 300$ of zoom lesnes is 11X
Arfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2007, 11:31 PM   #2

Arfi wrote:
Quote:
I am shooting a target thats about 25-30 feet away, w/ a shoulders and above shot of the person.