Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 11, 2007, 11:23 AM   #1

:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:??:?
BTW i emant XT or XTI
"I am new to dslr's, although i have been in photography w/ advanced point and shoots "i never experienced a manual mode yet". Im expecting to learn alot, and i know i iwll have to. I enjoy photography as a hobby, although i also developed it into a business. I take pictures of famous speakers on a podium, who are 30 feet away and 20 degrees upwards from where ym camera is. On a point and shoot camera i have to go to 8X zoom to get the perfect shot. So ijust started thikning of just buying a 8X(400mm?) prime lens. The reason im using 8X and not mm is b/c i dont understand how to use the mm measurments, and dont even bother trying to explain it, b/c i cant get it, yet. SO, which camera would be the highest quality, that i could buy w/ 2 average lenses for my hobby, and a 8X prime lens for uder 800$, if its possible" I've been looking at pentax, and it seems to be lvl 2 camera company (like not on the top w/ olympus, cannon or nikon or sony etc..), and seems to be much cheaper. Can there be any camera w/ lenses that i could get to accomplish all of the above w/ 800-900$
Arfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 11, 2007, 3:33 PM   #2

It's interesting you put Olympus above Pentax. I wouldn't. Not to say I feel Olympus is not good. They are. I'm just saying the 4/3 system Olympus uses is much more of a compromise than Pentax's APS-C sized sensor system.

You want a dSLR and a three lenses (one of which will be expensive) for less than $800?

To answer your question: You might get close with Pentax.