Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 12, 2007, 3:59 PM   #1

Hey thanks for the input from the D40 vs D40x question I posed, it helped and now I have another. I went to Future Shop (Canada's version of Best Buy) and was looking at and playing with several cameras they had there. Previously when I went looking I was't impressed by the XTi, I thought it felt cheap, but yesterday comparing it directly to the D40x I found them to both be better then I remebered. So I am once again torn. I do have a concern about the availabilty of lenses for the D40x. As I stated in my previous thread I am new to the DSLR realm, but I enjoy taking architectural and landscape shots. I was hoping for some input comparing the XTi or the D40x (or even the D80?). Budget isn't a huge concern, but I do want to be able to find lenses in the future, and when it comes time to upgrade stay with a system. Thanks for the help.
jerwilhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2007, 2:04 PM   #2

My wife just stepped up to a DSLR. While trying to decide, we narrowed the choices to:

Nikon D70
Nikon D80
Canon XTi
Canon XT

We did not even consider the Nikon 40 or 40x. We then elliminated the XT and D70. We had a nice lens that would fit the D80, however, my wife kept going back to the Canon XTi.

We ended up ordering the Canon XTi body and the Super Wide Angle EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 USM Autofocus Lens.

My wife is not just happy with the purchase, she is super excited! She can't stop taking pics. Our son just competed in the State Final Four, and this is the first chance she had to take some action shots. The quality of photos, and ease of use, put a big smile on her face. The ergos of the camera plus the setting/menu are to her liking.

She has a couple of CF cards and the next purchase is a lens with more zoom. We couldn't be happier with the XTi. Basically it comes down to the camera that you are most comfortable with.