Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 15, 2007, 12:24 PM   #1

I'm a point-and-shoot (Been using Sony since i was around 11 or 12)photographer looking to move into the world of dSLRs (seems to be many of us these days).

Maybe just abit of background. I like taking pictures of nature, be it in macro mode or in /landscape/far distances. Also, being a student, i have alot of classmates who love to get their pictures taken. And lastly, i guess with alot of photographers, I take pictures of anything that catches my attention (be it patterns/ patterns with odd-one-out; Signs; just about anything really)

Anyway, being an amatuer, i only want an entry level dSLR. Entry level in a sense that, i don't want to be buying something which has functions that overwhelm me. But not "too-entry-level" in a sense that, when i do get better at manual settings, i don't want to get a better body just so i can explore more.

Funds is of course a factor for me (I'm not a rich college student XD)

Anyway, i sort of narrowed it down to 2 cameras, the A100 and the Rebel XTi.( i was also considering the Nikon D80, but, money played a big part in saying,"forget it!" hehe)

So for me, its here where it starts to get complicated.

After reading the reviews from this site, from dpreview, from cnet and from other photography blog (Oh, if anyone can point me to other great review sites, I'd be very grateful), I still find it difficult which one is "better"(if such a term can be used)

One big reason for that is, this is my first dSLR purchase, so i have no experience whatsoever in dSLRs or to be precise, Canon Cameras. And the other is, Sony's jump to dSLR is still quite relatively new(Konica/Minolta aside). Not many shops do recommend Sony as of yet (From my experience, they "try harder" to persuade you in buying well known dSLR brands like Canon or Nikon)