Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 19, 2007, 12:57 AM   #1

I am rather new to digital SLR's but it has come time for me to purchase a quality digital camera. I need a digital camera to take high res close up photos of products for my website . I need to take pics of tiny items (like salt crystals) , crop and blow them up yet still have it look extremely sharp.

I currently own a Nikon n70film camera with a tamron 28-105 and 75-300 lens.

I was considering the populard40x and the canon XTI but then i found out thatmy lenses wont work on these cameras. Even then i wasn't sure what one to get . I really like the feel of the nikon but i liked the dust control feature of the canon. I then started looking at the nikon D80because i could use the lenses i already own on it.

other than my website needs I am a casual camera user but having a nice camera makes taking pictures way more fun so i don't mind spending a few bucks on it. I also take good care of my gear so itshould last me a long time.

This my string of questions .

1) are the includedkit nikon or canon lenses substantially better then the tamrons i own and i am better off getting the n40x or canon XTI with one of these lenses ?

2) other than the wider range of lenses available what are the other advantages of the n80 over the other two ?

3) I have seen a d40x with a few different lens kits, one with a 18-55 ($700), one with a 18-135($900) and one with 18-35 and a 55-200 ($975) . Are all of these good lenses ?

4) I have read a few places that the n80 is a waste and you might as well break yourself and get the n200 but they don't elaborateon why. is there any truth to this ?
style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"5)if it was you and your $700-$1000 , what would you buy consideringmy uses?

a) Nikon d40x with 18-55 ($700)

b) Nikon d40x with 18-135 ($900)

c) Nikon d40x with 18-35 and a 55-200 ($975)