Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 21, 2007, 1:16 PM   #1

I have been searching this forum little success in finding out which camera would be best for me. Here is the requirement

1) Background: I have been using Kodak DX4900 since Past 4 years, over the years, i felt that there is a need to have more control over the Shutter, Apperture, Focus etc...
2) Requirement: I would like to take series of shots at a single click keeping All other parameters same except for varing shutter speeds example 1/100; 1/200;1/300;1/400 up to 1/2000. similarly, keeping all all other things constant, varing aperture

Which camera would be best?
I am open to DSLR and P&S, any thing that gives me control as mentioned above

your help is greatly appreciated

Thanking in Advance

Kind Regards,
ViReN
ViReN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2007, 2:28 PM   #2

Don't know of any camera on the market that will do what you want - mostly because from a general photographic concept it doesn't make a whole lot of sense. I don't even know of one that does automatic exposurue bracketing - typically bracketing is done in 3 shots - one with metered exposure, one under and one over - but you usually have to press the shutter 3 times. I'm not sure of any camera that will increment the shutter by 1/3 stops from 1/100 up to 1/2000 with just one click.

Out of curiosity - what are you taking photos of that you want 4 1/2 stops worth of different exposures (which is what you'd get keeping all other parameters the same)?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2007, 3:04 PM   #3

John,

Thank you for a kind reply. A couple of days back, I have had hands on Canon S3 IS a couple of days back, it allows automatic exposurue bracketing - bracketing 3 shots but in that, I guess the F Stop and Aperture changes. it can take 3 shots at one click.