Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 22, 2007, 6:18 PM   #1

Hi all, I need help. I own the Pentax and I won the Nikon. Which one should I keep and why?

I am new to SLR photography so any help and advice should be appreciated.
ozculprit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 22, 2007, 6:43 PM   #2

Both cameras are excellent and have similar quality.

Do you have more lenses with the Pentax?Since you say you just won the D40, I would guess it will come with the kit lens only. If you had more than the Pentax kit lens I'd say keep the Pentax and sell the D40.

The D40 is a newer camera and perhaps you would get more selling it than you would a well-used DS, but the DS has retained its resale value quite well, considering there's now the K100 and K110, and you should do fairly well selling it unless your shutter count is way high or there's dings on the camera.

Do you prefer feel/ergonomics of the D40 over the DS? If so, then sell the Pentax, but if you prefer the DS, then sell the D40.

If you don't have extra lenses, and they both are equally comfortable for you to use, then sell the one that fetches the most money or flip a coin.

I don't think you can lose either way - sell one and use the proceeds to buy a new lens for the one you keep.
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2007, 6:49 PM   #3

I have a 70-300mm & 18-55mm lenses with the pentax and the D kit came with the 18-55 and 55-200mm kit. I like the Pentax and feel, its heavier than the Nikon but that is just because I am ue to the Pentax. After a quickplay wih the Nikon I would say the Nikon is easier to use. I am taking some shots this weekend with both Cameras at the local sporting club and will compare them that way as well. I am leaning towards the Nikon because its new, 12 months warranty etc.

I think it may come down to fliping a coin..lol

The Pentax and Lenses are in excellent condition, 12 months old.