Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 29, 2007, 8:13 AM   #1

Hi,

1st I would like to say hello as I am new and this is my 1st post. I am consiering buying a new SLR as I am fedup or my Fuju 6900z and my compact camera. These are the two that I have read up on and would like your feedback on which one I should get.

1. Canon 350D

2 Canon 400D

The reviews have been great for both but I have been told that the 350D is superiour. I am new to SLR and will be attending a course :-). I would also like a get an additional lens for the camera, one for all occasions i.e outdoors, sports, nature and family pics so it would be great to get some advice on that too. I've been told to get a lens from 55mm-300mm.

Thanks Guys
soulman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 29, 2007, 8:25 AM   #2

I had the 350D great camera i sold it and bought the 400D which i like better than the 350D, but you could buy the 350D cheaper than the 400D but if you do buy just buy the body and buy a better lens, my pick though 400D
hercules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2007, 8:38 AM   #3

Soulman-

The basic difference between the Canon 350D/XT and the Canon 400D/XTi are that the 350 has 8mp while the XTi has 10mp. The image processors are a bit different as well. The XTi also features an imager filter cleaning systemwhich is new to the XTicamera as well. Both cameras have received excellent reviews. The XT, because it was the camera model that the XTi replaced, can probably be found for less money.

The camera is small in size and some folks do not like the rather cramped grip on both the XT and XTi, so is is very important indeed that you actually physically handle both cameras before purchasing them.