Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 31, 2007, 7:55 AM   #1
RGA

I have decided that this lense type is most attractive to me because it is a good all rounder that lets me do everything. I am no pro but I prefer the DSLR option to possibly get into photography. A fellow suggested the zoom cameras like the Fuji 9600 because it feels like an SLR, Looks like one and has the 18mm - 200mm lense uilt on - but no image stabalizer and the reviewers seem to dance around the picture quality a bit.

Has anyone done direct comparisons of a Nikon VR 18-200mm versus the alternate brand lenses in terms of quality?

My front runner is a Nikon D80 with everything I've read -- Canon does not offer such a lense for a reasonable price.

So my choice would be Canon Xti with Sigma or Tamron ----- or D80 (D40x worst case) with Nikon's 18-200mm.

Thanks yet again
RGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 31, 2007, 9:02 AM   #2

RGA-

When considering a so called "all in one lens", a lens that covers a zoom span of (in 35mm terms) 28mm to 300 to 375mm,such as the Tamron 18-250mm (the broadest zoom range currently on the market- about $(US) 500) or the Tamron 18-200mm (about $(US) 360 to 370) or the Sigma 18-200mm lens (about $(US) 310 to 320), all of which are made in either the Canon or Nikon mount, you have to consider that these lenses are handy, not especially fast (apature-wise), and have to make some optical compromises. So, please do not expect Canon L lens quality. However, they are very capable, handy to use, and do the job quite nicely. Sigma also produces a Sigma 18-200mmOS lens selling for around $(US) 500 to 550. OS is Sigma's name for IS.