Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 3, 2007, 11:56 AM   #1

I am a volunteer for our local humane society in charge of taking pets for adoption photos and posting them on our website http://www.upaws.org.

I am currently using my Sony DSC-T9 digital camera for the photos. I love the shots outside but for the inside shots of the cats, the shots are very hard to get a real good shot where the cats eyes aren't glowing. I've put the camera's red-eye reduction on but with animals they see the extra flash and they are "gone"!

Do you think the Nikon D40 would be a good camera for this type of shooting? I'm thinking of upgrating.

I'd bascally keep it on Auto and be taking shots. I'm not a camera expert.

Thanks, just wanting to get the very best photos of these homeless pets. A good photo really helps get them adopted.

whitetabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2007, 1:22 PM   #2

whitetabby-

Using aNikon D-40 in automatic seems to be to be a bit of over kill. The photos on your website look quite good. Perhaps a Sony H-2 would be a better choice. The are selling for about $(US) 270.00 and have received excellent reviews.

Sarah
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 3:48 PM   #3

I don't know what your shooting situation is like, but if you can simply improve the lighting so that you don't need to use a flash that would likely be a cheaper and more effective solution. You should be able to pull it off by just putting in some brighter bulbs in one area and maybe adding some additional light sources (try to use identical bulbs in all lights).

Or, you could get some studio lights which will definitely be bright enough, but those can get a bit pricey, inconvenient and maybe even a bit dangerous considering how hot they get.
Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 5:59 PM   #4