Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 12, 2007, 6:14 PM   #1

I realize this is going to be a difficult question to cover, but here we go...

I really would like to purchase a dslr. I've narrowed my search to Canon...further narrowed my search to either the 30D or the 5D. Obviously major price difference, but I'd like to know the opinion of others on this matter. I've just started a company and plan to do some photography. I have very little experience in dslr's but am a geek and will learn quickly. I'd like to purchase the camera that makes sense. Do I suck it up and go with the 5D so that at least I have a solid base that I can expand upon? Or do I go with the 30D and perhaps find that I want more from my camera experience soon down the road?

Thanks for any advice you might be able to offer!
Lokster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 12, 2007, 6:30 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Hi and welcome to Steve's forums!

It is going to come down to the sort photography you will want to be doing to if you will see any gain getting the 5D over the very capable 30D. I'm in the fortunate position that Iown both of these cameras and they both have their advantages depending on the sort of work I'm doing at the time. When shooting sports the the 30D is my primary with the 5D for backup on ready to go with a different lens option. The 30D is better as ithas 5fps (frames per second) and for alot of work the crop factor of the smaller sensor is a bonus making my long lenses longer (well appear to be).For weddings and portraits then the 5D wins with better resolution, full frame sensor so more dof control, in nasty low light conditions it is stronger and having what seems to be a huge viewfinder after using a crop camera is really nice.