Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 17, 2007, 7:03 PM   #1

Hello.

Very nice and informative forum. I did search and read many reviews but I can't really decide...

I've been using my Finepix 2650 for more than 5 years now, and it served me well, however this camera has 3 major drawbacks...

1. when using flash, two 2000mAh rechargables last for likr 15 photos....

2. it can make moves, but no sound and quality is shockingly bad...

3. all though outdoor/sunny day pics are of very decent quality, low light photos are reallybad - grainy, flash seems to have very limited range and creates white blobs, photos on cloudy day are too good either...

So I'm looking for replacment and i have decided on the following specifications:

1. i know that low light photos are always difficult, but surly some models are better than others in that department..

2. I really like to make movie flicks of decent quality with sound. i dont need them to be long, few mins os more than enough. ideally at 640x480x30fps with sound... I dont like quicktime format, but if i got no choice then that's ok. Now, what I noticed some manufacturers specify that particulat model can make movies with with that quality, but when I digg around I find that eg. 640x480x30fps can be done only without sound, and other limitations as such.

3. size/brand/type of card/etc doesnt matter

4. i dont need extensive manual controls, i use my digicams in point-n-shoot style, i'd like it to be as automatic as possible, but i'd like to have manual shutter speed, so I can make low level light photos off a tripod

5. good macro mode is preffered, but not essnetial. I often photograph electronic circuit board and all sorts of mechanical parts (often made of shiny alloys to be more difficult )