Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 21, 2007, 5:56 PM   #1

Hello,

Looking for guidance. Have been reading like crazy on the above subject.

I'm new to photography; I can take a picture if you ask and could probably figure out basic manual controls. I've always been interested in photography and am now willing to invest the time and effort to learn and enjoy.

Mainly I will be taking pictures at marching band competitions of the band(s) themselves and in particular the drum majors. These competitions take place from September through March. I've not a lot of time to make a decision. Also, I will be taking pictures of a small child and a newborn along with "regular" family pictures, or whatever catches my eye. I may like to sign up for a photography course at the local college, so am interested in learning/expanding on the camera I do ultimately purchase.

I'm considering the Canon SD800 IS, but see too there is a SD850, 870, 900, 950, 1000; let the confusion begin! I've also looked at Nikon D40 SLR and have read everywhere this is the best for those going from P&S to DSLR.

Should I start with the P&S and then work myself up to the DSLR and if so, any recommendations on which of the Canon models referenced above would be suitable for marching band photos in addition to "normal" photos?

Thanks for listening to me ramble and appreciate any and all guidance!

Juanita
Juanita19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 21, 2007, 7:26 PM   #2