Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 29, 2007, 10:28 AM   #1

I'm a graduate student researcher and I've been assigned the task of purchasing a camera for use in the lab.

Ideally, I would purchase the Canon Digital Rebel XT with a EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM lens, but my professor/advisor has different ideas.

She wants:
A camera that can be hooked up to the computer so that the settings on the camera can be adjusted via photoshop (or any other photo editing type program). Someone told me that I needed to get a camera that is TWAIN enabled, but I contacted several photo/video stores and they've told me that there aren't any cameras with interchangeable lenses that are TWAIN enabled, so now I'm at a loss.

I'd appreciate any help!!

bigtykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 29, 2007, 10:41 AM   #2

Rebel XT/XTi will work. It comes with a remote capture program - you connect the camera to a PC and can change all (almost all) shooting settings on a computer screen. The final images are stored directly on a hard disk. There is no preview though.

Most Canon P&S can do the same and give a live preview on a computer screen. Canon PowerShot G7 looks like a nice camera. One of my clients uses an old PowerShot G2 connected to a PC to shoot jewellery.

What are you going to shoot with this setup?
algold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2007, 10:48 AM   #3

Well, we run electrophoresis gels that separate DNA by their length. We then stain them using this chemical called Ethidium Bromide and then place the gel under a UV lamp that causes the EtBr to flourese. I need to take images of these gels under the UV light.

Could you tell me how this remote capture program work?

Btw, thanks for the information! I really appreciate it!
Old Aug 29, 2007, 1:12 PM   #4