Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 13, 2007, 9:24 AM   #1

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question, but I'm not sure where else to put it.

I've been wanting to get into photography and have been weighing whether I should get a decent point-and-shoot or a low-end DSLR. I really have no photography experience, and things like metering, aperture, ISO, f-stops, etc. are fascinating to me, but also completely over my head at the moment. I am kind of a geek about stuff like this and think I would be quite interested in learning how to use and control settings, but I would be starting at the very beginning.

Because I'm a complete novice at this, I set my initial budget at ~$500-$600, thinking if I went the DSLR route I could look at the Rebel or the D40 and come away with a body and kit lens in roughly that price range.

I mentioned this to a friend of mine, and he basically offered to sell me his only-been-used-five-times D200 for $500. :shock:This includes the 18-200 VR lens. I've pointed out this is practically highway robbery andhe could probably sell the lens alone for more than that, but he doesn't want to bother. (He's in the process of moving overseas. He's the type who tends to randomly buy very expensive things he thinks he'll use, and then never touch them. Hence the D200, still with the original Nikon and B&H boxes, warranty, etc.)