Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 14, 2007, 8:29 AM   #1

This is my first post. My first digital camera purchase was easy. I got a Canon SD450: it was cute, could take movie clips, and had color accent.

Now I want to upgrade and my problem is I started reading forums. I have diverse needs. Iwant something for travel pictures, take indoor sports shots, and I've got boat races coming up. I've kind of narrowed the choices to the Panasonic FZ18 because it seems to have something of everything, and the Canon G9 for some explicable reason that I am drawn to it.

I am a real novice, but am reading everything I can get my hands on (so much still goes over my head). But I would like a camera that has good image to start with, and that is conducive to growing with. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Dossy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2007, 10:01 AM   #2
Administrator

Quote:
...take indoor sports shots...
A DSLR is usually required for most indoor sports. You'll also want a bright lens (usually a fixed focal length versus zoom is needed to get something bright enough for some sports, even shooting at a very high ISO speed). For example, a 50mm f/1.4, 50mm f/1.8, 85mm f/1.8, etc. These types of lenses are much brighter than zooms.

Otherwise, you'll get too much motion blur from subject movement with most cameras.