Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 16, 2007, 2:27 PM   #1

I just found out that Beach Camera (a reputable dealer) has the K100D with kit lens on sale for $395 + free shipping, after the $50 mail-in rebate. (See http://beachcamera.com/shop/product....ku=PKK100D1855 .)

I was considering the Fuji S6000 ($319 + tax), but now I'm intrigued by the K100D deal. I wanted the S6000 for the manual controls, wide angle lens, and low-light shooting. However, the K100D has image stabilization, but the kit lens is not as wide as the Fuji lens. And, I presume that the Pentax would have better image quality.

Do you think that the Pentax would be a better purchase than the S6000? On the one hand, I'm not interested in video capabilities and 10x zoom of the Fuji. On the other hand, I won't have the cash to upgrade the lens or buy additional lenses for the Pentax (at least for a couple of years--I'm a student). My photography interests are landscapes, street photography, and maybe portraits--photos to "showcase" in my home :-). I'm a newbie and want to have access to manual controls (without drilling down menus).

I'm looking forward to your opinions!
jmd18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2007, 2:43 PM   #2

jmd-

The Pentax K-100D with the kit lens is a much better deal than the Fuji S-6000. The wide angle position on the S-6000 is 28 degree (expressed in 35mm terms) The wide angle on the Pentax K-100D is roughly 27.5 degrees. So as far as wide angle capabilities go, the cameras are just about equal.

Where the big difference comes is:

(1) In the SR, or shake reduction which is Pentax's name for "in body" image stabilization.

(2) In the much larger imager on the Pentax K-100 when compared to the S-6000.

(3) And in the pure camera flexability that ony a DSLR can provide.