Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 25, 2007, 12:50 PM   #1

Hi All,

Long time reader on here, but first time posting. I'm looking to make the jump into the dSLR field and I'm at a loss of what kind of camera to get. To give a uick background, I've been using digital P&S for about 9 years now, and I've always gone with Canon. I shoot a variety of pictures, but mainly landscapes, people, wildlife, cityscapes, etc. At the moment I have an S2 IS, but I'm ready to upgrade. However,I do not like the Rebel lineup at all. It feels flimsy and terrible in my hand.

I believe I have narrowed my choices down to two cameras (possibly three). The Nikon D40, Pentax K100d, or K100d Super. Is the Super worth getting over the regular K100d? I don't feel like I need anything more than 6MP, as I will not be doing enlargements on a regular basis. I like the Nikon as a well known established brand, and I really like the feel of it in my hand. The Pentax grabbed my attention with the fact that it has AntiShake built in and the backwards lens compatibility. I've seen sample pictures from both and both look great. On my S2, my IS comes in handy ALL THE TIME, so I think this would make me lean more towards the Pentax.

Any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
rdb4198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 25, 2007, 2:20 PM   #2

All three cameras are quite good. But there are a few major differences.

As you mentioned, the Pentax dSLRs have AntiShake in the body, while Nikon puts it in the lenses, which makes Nikon's Vibration Reduction (VR)lenses bigger, heavier, and more expensive.

Also, the Nikon D40 doesn't have its own autofocus motor, so it will only autofocus with about 1/3 of Nikon's lenses andabout 1/3 of Sigma's, and won't work with any of Tamron's or Tokina's.

But if you can find what you're looking for in any of the three, I think you'll be happy with it
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote