Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 7, 2007, 11:19 PM   #1

I've just bought the fz8 and not sure if I will ever been 100% sure on my decision. I decided to stick with it due to price, light weight and the quality at this stage seems to be good for me. however, I am a beginner. Now what i'm thinking is if its a good idea to take it to the next level and purchase a pentax k10d. Is this a hard camera to work out how to use and is there going to be any advantages for me in doing so.
seashels is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2007, 12:57 AM   #2

seashels wrote:
Quote:
I've just bought the fz8 and not sure if I will ever been 100% sure on my decision. I decided to stick with it due to price, light weight and the quality at this stage seems to be good for me. however, I am a beginner. Now what i'm thinking is if its a good idea to take it to the next level and purchase a pentax k10d. Is this a hard camera to work out how to use and is there going to be any advantages for me in doing so.
How long have you owned the FZ8? Is it not doing something for you now that you thinka DSLR can? Have you mastered the FZ8 and know what it can and cannot do? Do you know what each of the letters (P, A, S, M) on the FZ8's maindial mean and why you would want to use one vs. one ofthe others, or do you just leave it set to AUTO?

Assuming you do buy The K10D, how much are you planning to spend on lenses after buying the K10D? Accessories? Separate flash? Software?If you really are a beginner, the worst thing you can probably do is load yourself down with equipment you know absolutely nothing about. Digital SLR's are not the final, great step for everyone, expecially if you don't have a solid reason for needing to buy one...unless, of course, you have $1,000-$2,000 burning a hole in your pocket.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2007, 1:08 AM   #3