Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 19, 2007, 2:40 AM   #1

Hi my first post, being a real newbie here I'm just overwelmed by the info I have read so far, but I'm finding it hard to to decide on what to purchase.

Since I'm going to the Big Apple in the new year I'd like to have a good camera to take pictures of the buildings. I really don't care about shooting people but would like that option open. I have a SD800 is which i like but shooting buildings with it just doesn't seem to cut it, and since I'm really liking taking pictures it seems going DSLR is the logical step. I'd prefer not to spend a whole lot of cash, and with the prices I've found so far I don't think I need too.

So the questions are
What camera and lens(es) would be good to
A. learn on and let me take wonderful pictures of the Empire State Building?
and sometimes people?
B. last me a while so as my skills hopefully get better I wont really have to
upgrade too soon.

Thank you
Paul
sabre66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 19, 2007, 4:21 AM   #2

OK, sounds like you're going to want to do some wide angle work but nothing too difficult. I think any of the following would easily fit the bill:

Canon 350D

Nikon D40x

Pentax K100 Super

The Canon 400D is a very nice upgrade over the 350D for about $100 more. Oly has some nice cameras but with the 2x crop factor it makes shooting wide more difficult.

Your requirements can be met by all of the above really. But they all handle/feel differently. So you would want to handle all of them before making a decision.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 8:01 AM   #3

Be careful, and make sure you're checking prices from reputable vendors if shopping online. If you're seeing prices too good to be true, they probably are. Use resellerratings.com to check out vendors if you're not sure.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2007, 8:02 AM   #4