Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 10, 2007, 10:21 AM   #1

Hello,

I recently bought a Nikon D40 for which the main purpose is to take action shots of my two children playing soccer. I am a complete beginner when it comes to photography. After reading many of the posts, I'll try to be as specific as possible. With this being my first lens purchase, I would like to stay on a tight budget. I'm looking for a lens that will allow me to zoom in on my children during soccer games when they may be on the other side of the field (up to 200 feet away). The camera came with an 18-55mm lens. I was zeroing in on the 15-200 vr lens for the soccer shots. I read some posts that said it was a good lens for the money while other posts said it was not good for action shots. I'm now completely confused. Any help on a lens that will fit my Nikon D40 to take these possibly long distance action shots would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You
philbymo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 10, 2007, 1:53 PM   #2

Phil,

First, welcome to the forums! The d40 is a very nice camera and you're going to be able to take some great shots with it.

Now for the bad news - you need to rein in your expectations. You're not going to take action shots of your kids 200 feet away. I'm a sports shooter, and I can tell you from a lot of experience that isn't going to happen - at least not decent shots or not without spending gobs and gobs of money.

A 200mm lens is good for maybe 75-80 feet and that's about it.

Now, that doesn't mean all is lost - it just means you have to adjust your expectations a bit.

First: how old are your kids? I.E. what size field are they playing on?

Second: are you allowed right off the touchline?

Third: what, exactly, is your budget?