Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 13, 2007, 5:44 PM   #1

I am hoping someone can help me decide... here's the deal I am a total beginner looking to get into photography as a hobby. I purchased a Sony H2 to start and have been very pleased with it so far for an everyday camera. However, my 16 year old son plays ice hockey and as I am sure you all know it just doesn't cut the mustard for that application. Anyway, have spent many, many hours reading reviews thought I had decided on the Nikon D40 went to a big box store salesman said I definitely would want to go with the Canon xti then saw a review on the E510 thought that was the winner then read a review from a person who had returned theirs basically because the small viewfinder was not working out well with their eyeglasses which concerned me since I too wear glasses. The more I read the more confused I get so any knowledgeable input would be appreciated. Since I am such a beginner I am only looking to spend around $700 -$800. :?
rubynuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2007, 5:52 PM   #2

Sorry, all that rambling and I didn't really state my main question... Would I be better off getting the E510 2-lens kit or buying a Canon or Nikon body with one really good lens?? :?
Old Nov 13, 2007, 6:09 PM   #3