Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 17, 2007, 12:48 AM   #1

I know this debat has been going around for a while, but I still need further clarity since I havea unique career.

I'm mainly choosing between the Nikon D40 and the Canon Rebel XT due to budget considerations so I am leaning away from the D40X and XTi. My main focus is on high speed kicking and flipping in a martial arts setting. Here are the givens:

- Most of theshots willNOT be in low light settings. Mainly indoor shots...florescent lighting
- Which of the 2 cameras have better shots (FPS? ... sorry, I'm new to the lingo)
- Which cameras have better quality lenses
- Which is more durable (My wife and I are a bit clumsy)...any recommended accessories to protect the camera and lens?
- I may want to produce larger print photos...how big of a print can each do?

Any other considerations I should think of?

Also....sidebar. I'm mainly looking at Ritz, Best Buy, Circuit City due to Accidental Damage Warranty coverage. Does anyone cover thier camera's on their Home Owner's Warranty? If so...what do you get charged and is there a deductable?
five40kix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2007, 6:12 AM   #2
NHL

five40kix wrote:
Quote:
- Most of theshots willNOT be in low light settings. Mainly indoor shots...florescent lighting
Indoor fluorescent lighting is low-light for any action shots!!!

The camera is not important as the lens is for low-light - i.e. you'll need fast lenses; However the D40 is designed such that it won't accept any fast lenses in the Nikon line which have no motor in them so I guess you're stuck with the Canon by default...

-> What you need is high shutter-speed to freeze the action and fast lenses with wide aperture (and not slow zooms with "image stabilization" which are useless @ stopping the actions) - Unless you can use flash which is the best approach

NHL is offline   Reply With Quote